Landlord Tips: How to Resolve Noise Complaints

by Chris on June 22, 2015

Noise is everywhere around us. But when noise occurs in a rental property, it can cost a landlord time and money. That’s reason enough to become proficient at handling noise complaints.

These complaints can be difficult to resolve because:

1. Most noise disturbances occur in the middle of the night;
2. It can be tricky to identify the source;
3. Enforcement efforts are not always successful; and
4. Sometimes the complaining tenant is being too sensitive to normal noises.

Tenants’ Right to Quiet Enjoyment

tenant screeningThe right to quiet enjoyment of the rental property is at the heart of noise complaints. Tenants are entitled to live free from unreasonable disturbances, which can include excessive, ongoing noise. Inaction by the landlord can violate a tenant’s quiet enjoyment, giving rise to monetary awards. So, it is imperative for landlords to resolve tenant noise complaints.

Unfortunately, that’s easier said than done.

When is Noise Excessive?

Normal daily activities make noise. No one can access kitchen cabinets or glide along the floor above undetected. Yet, other tenants often complain about these noises. The fact is some tenants are simply too sensitive to noise, and struggle to live in multifamily situations.

That means landlords must evaluate the problem and discern which tenant — the one complaining, or the one making noise — needs intervention. To do that, landlords must decide if the noise is normal, or excessive.

Evaluating Noise Complaints

The guidelines for determining when noise is  “excessive” are situation-specific. Landlords must decide on a case-by-case basis whether the noise complaint is legitimate. Turning to the experts — arbitrators who decide noise issues — can shed some light.

Arbitrators may consider:

1. Whether the noise complaint comes from a single source or if multiple tenants are complaining.

2. If a single source, whether this tenant has a habit of complaining, and whether those prior complaints were legitimate.

3. Whether the landlord has witnessed the noise firsthand and can identify the source.

4. The frequency of the occurrence — once in a while versus every night.

5. Whether the tenant or landlord has documented the specific times that the noise occurs.

6. Whether the activity that creates the noise is a normal living activity, such as walking, cooking, talking.

7. What steps the landlord has taken to attempt to resolve the issue, such as speaking with the offending tenant, or offering the complaining tenant a different unit.

Recent examples demonstrate how these factors overlap:

A landlord adopted a policy of not acting on noise complaints from a single source — one tenant. A complaining tenant was told to speak with the loud upstairs directly. That neighbour responded by turning up the volume and becoming belligerent. Later, the complaining tenant was told to submit noise complaints in writing only. Nothing was done until another tenant complained. After that, the loud tenant was offered two separate warnings. Meanwhile, the complaining tenant endured sleep disruption for 15 months. That tenant ultimately was awarded a rent abatement on the basis that the landlord did not protect her quiet enjoyment.

In another situation, an arbitrator sided with the noisy tenants. The landlord attempted to evict those tenants due to multiple noise complaints from one other tenant. The offending tenants denied that they were the ones making the noise and pointed blame at other tenants. The arbitrator determined that, because no one else had complained, the noise was not frequent and unreasonable enough to justify an eviction. However, the arbitrator added that, should the landlord witness the noise in the future, an eviction may be warranted.

Another case highlights the difficulties when one tenant is too sensitive to noise. The downstairs tenant lodged several noise complaints against his upstairs neighbour. The landlord responded by asking the upstairs tenant to be aware of the complaints. She responded by walking barefoot, and doing her best to keep the cabinet doors from banging. Each time the downstairs tenant complained, the landlord contacted the upstairs neighbour and asked her to be aware of the noise levels. The downstairs tenant still was not satisfied. The landlord offered to move him to a different unit, but he refused. The tenant ultimately asked for a rent abatement on the grounds that the landlord violated his right to quiet enjoyment. At the time he filed his complaint the noise had stopped, but the tenant feared it would continue in the future.

In that case, an arbitrator dismissed the complaint because the noises the tenant was experiencing are “normal daily living” noises. No one else had complained about the upstairs neighbour, who had resided there for six years. That tenant was already walking with bare feet and attempting to keep the noise to a minimum. The noise complaints were vague as to specific occurrences, and the landlord had responded, including providing the tenants with an emergency phone number for complaints. The upstairs neighbour was not required to take “extraordinary measures” to control noise from “normal living” activities.

The Best Landlord Policies for Noise Complaints

Act Quickly

Respond immediately to noise complaints. This serves any number of objectives. For instance, it is the best opportunity to witness the noise firsthand. That in turn will make the job of resolving the complaint far easier than interviewing tenants after the fact.

A quick response may prevent tempers from flaring.

Provide Options

tenant screeningUse psychology. The complaining tenant may feel ignored. That’s going to trigger more complaints. Show empathy and reassure the complaining tenant that his or her feelings matter. Let the tenant know there are options, and that you will stay in touch until the problem is resolved.

Let the tenant know you will intervene, or if that’s not appropriate, offer suggestions on how to reduce the annoyance from unavoidable noises — run a fan, a white noise machine, move furniture to quieter areas within the unit and so on. Another option is to offer to move the complaining tenant to another unit if that’s possible. As a last resort, consider releasing the chronic complainer from the lease. That may be the least expensive way forward.

Let Your Lease Do the Legwork

Your lease agreement can be a powerful tool — use it! Many noise disputes can be avoided simply by stating the rules, so tenants know what is or is not allowed. This helps the offending tenants as much as the complaining tenant.

The lease also can serve as a road map for handling complaints. The language used in the lease agreement is very important, so seek legal advice when writing or reviewing these provisions.

The rules must be clear if the lease is to serve as a deterrent. The more details the better, but use caution. Reactionary policies can result in income loss. Trying to list all the behaviours that might give rise to noise complaints leads to problems like discrimination claims. For instance, restricting the number of bodies that can be in a unit at one time may limit noise from raucous friends watching a hockey game, but it also limits the number of guests who can attend extended family dinners, which may be discriminatory. The same is true of policies that place noise restrictions only on children.

It is better to focus on the characteristics of the noise, not the people.

Remember, the best lease agreement is not the one you can enforce; it’s the one you don’t have to.

Preparing Tenants for Apartment Living

Anticipating and confronting noise issues head-on is another effective policy for landlords.

Speak with incoming tenants about common noise issues and ask for their cooperation. Night owls can listen to music on headphones and email or text at night to avoid loud phone conversations while others are sleeping.

Counsel tenants who are moving in to do so during daytime hours.

At the same time, prepare tenants for the unavoidable noises they will experience. For instance, maybe there’s an early morning trash pick-up. Suggest tenants close the windows or run a fan during this time period.

Have this conversation early in the leasing process. This is particularly helpful if the tenant has never lived in a multifamily environment. It’s best to flag the rental applicant who won’t adjust and is likely to become a chronic complainer.

Screen Your Tenants

Never overlook the importance of finding the right tenants and running tenant background checks. Find out if your rental applicant has been the subject of noise complaints before history repeats.

Keep Up With Repairs

Sometimes noise complaints are generated from the building itself. Steps like updating windows and beefing up insulation will go a long way towards keeping the peace.

Remain Calm

Keep emotion out of it. Anger will cause irreparable harm to landlord-tenant relationships. You may end up losing both tenants if you lose your head.

The Worst Strategy for Dealing  with Noise

Requiring tenants to confront their noisy neighbours directly is a bad idea. That can lead to any number of liabilities. Disgruntled tenants may ask for rent abatement. Frightened or angry tenants may turn to the police. Frequent police visits can drive down property value and impact tenant retention. Some disputes escalate into harassment or physical violence, and a landlord may wind up paying compensation to an injured tenant.

Landlords have a duty to manage their rental properties, and to keep the peace. Don’t hand that off to the tenants, or to the police. Tenants are rarely successful in resolving these disputes on their own. Passing the task onto tenants also prevents the landlord from witnessing and documenting the disturbance, which can make it nearly impossible to evict a rule-breaking tenant.

This post is provided by Tenant Verification Service, Inc., helping landlords reduce the risks of renting with fraud prevention tools that include Tenant Screening, Tenant Background Checks, (U.S. and Canada), as well as Criminal Background Checks, and Eviction Reports (U.S. only).

Click Here to Receive Landlord Credit Reports.

Disclaimer: The information provided in this post in not intended to be construed as legal advice, nor should it be considered a substitute for obtaining individual legal counsel or consulting your local, state, federal or provincial tenancy laws.

{ 38 comments… read them below or add one }

Linda October 16, 2015 at 4:43 am

I rent my basement out. My bedroom is right above theirs. About 3-5 times a week they /she are Loud between 1 am and 3 am. She Yells or they Argue late at night. I have try calling my property manager he has talk to them. It stop for a few days and starts all over again. They are night owls. I am not getting my sleep at night. What do I do?

Jerry February 6, 2016 at 2:34 pm

Noisy tenants deliberately cause noise in apt above us
Landlords notices have no lasting affect
Wihhold part of rent to buy materials to reduce noise?

Joely June 17, 2016 at 4:11 pm

Thanks for the great advice to landlords. I think an emerging area of this topic IS “normal” walking, cooking, etc. During the real estate boom, most cities experienced a dramatic increase in the number of hastily built, poorly constructed yet expensive rental stock. Add to that the national obsession of the last 20 years with hardwood floors. As a result, you now have many people paying top dollar in rent, complete with correspondingly high expectations that their homes will be somewhat peaceful, and being faced with banging, shaking, and booming every time a neighbor walks or turns on a stereo for a quiet dinner party. Unfortunately, though, some of those high-paying tenants also feel they have a right to “do whatever they want for what they’re paying.” It will be interesting to see how it shakes out. I do feel that the courts have to catch up with the current realities of renting. The old “she’s too sensitive and can always move” simply does not cut it any longer.

Suffering _1 June 27, 2016 at 10:00 pm

I feel there is something wrong with regular noise being qualified as “normal living” when there exists a range of such, with some noise not being considered, due to this qualifying. Having resided in the same place for years, I have experienced mostly quiet, respectful neighbors above me, whose normal noise was just that and not disturbing. Then there are surprisingly those who apparently think nothing of the sounds they are causing and don’t care, having it justified as “normal”. Then, this goes overlooked by management, especially when the offending tenant feigns innocence over claims from downstairs, with the one affected possibly being seen as oversensitive. (Certain decibel level sounds are difficult to record also, with typical devices).

I am having to regularly endure the slamming of cabinets, drawers and windows, the dropping of heavy objects, scraping of chairs on linoleum; rapid, thudding walking and having my ceiling or windows rattle. There is something to be said about those who are hyperactive or aggressive, with them thinking they are doing nothing wrong. This combined with a thoughtlessness, creates a problem. This type should not live above another and these cases should not be shaken off as “apartment living”, being due to construction or another’s sensitivity. These ideas excuse the noisemaker and only justifies their entitled behavior.

I have looked into this since having experiencing this type on and off only in recent years, having been a renter much longer than that. (From the first offender, it began affecting me and altering my life, due to needing to remain up to relax after they finally went to sleep). I have seen that this is a common complaint amongst apartment dwellers, but frustratingly, seeing that nothing is done about this level of annoyance. Everyone cannot just be “oversensitive” and there should be an effort in gauging who is telling the truth instead of making assumptions. Why should it be that some are able to inflict whatever they want upon others, especially when noise predominantly travels downward? Though in my instance, it is not about what is considered “nuisance (TV, music, fighting, etc.) noise”, this is still excessive, unneccessary and annoying to those wanting to live their lives peacefully, being an everyday intrusion of sudden and disruptive racket upon one’s ceiling, unable to block it out. Those like myself would never inflict these types of noises, being conscious and respectful of others.

I have wondered how this is fair and why there is not a category extended with rules or laws to cover this type of disturbance. My feeling is that, if prospective tenants have it strictly understood going in that this sort of behavior or annoyance will not be tolerated, it could improve consciousness, but not having it considered is detrimental. (However, how people are raised I believe has much to do with these issues, with some acting as if they will be compliant, when they will not). Furthermore, it seems if there were better rules and laws created, it would not only benefit the more appropriate and considerate tenant, but owners, management and law enforcement, besides.

josephine safar September 24, 2016 at 9:26 am

hi i move to my apartment 2 years ago from the first day i hear my neighbor above me he is making tools noises from 6 am or he start late night like 11 pm tell 3 am i cant get my rest and sleep properly
i been complaining to my landlord she spoke to him but he dosnt care he keep doing it i dont know what to do i need help and i cant give up my place because is subsidence

Jerri September 24, 2016 at 10:54 am

I agree with Suffering. I’m in the same situation & to get out of my lease is 2 months rent. That seems excessive for someone to get out of a situation that they put me in. It was so quiet until they moved in. Then bam! Constant noise. I work night shift & its worse for me. What can be done? Can we seek legal representation?

No_Name_12 December 9, 2016 at 12:37 pm

I absolutely hands down agree with suffering. I have been living in an apartment for almost two years. We have had two other tenants reside over us in that time, one of which was a couple with two large dogs. The other was a single male. We never heard a peep from either tennants accept occasional dog barking. That’s it. No walking, cabinet slamming, nothing. This year we had new tennants move in and they have been loud since they had keys in hand. They have 5 people living in a one bedroom apartment, (most people living off lease presumably) constantly pounding the floor, slamming cabinets, vacuuming at midnight, dogs barking, children pounding the floor, people shouting, teenage boys wresting on the floor through out the night on the weekends, garbage disposal running at 4 AM, loud TVs, opening and slamming of sliding glass door all through the night (and I mean from 9 PM to 4 AM), washer rumbling all night long.. the list continues. I understand everyday living noises, we’ve lived in apartments for quite some time. They have a right to enjoy their place as much I have a right to QUIET enjoyment in mine. But the amount of noise and suffering that’s been had to deal with here has been torturous. They don’t work, so on top of no sleep we wake up on the daily to the exact same noises we doze off too around 5 AM. We’ve put in so many noise complaints we’ve lost count. People that don’t have consideration for others truly do need to live in homes, not apartments. This kind of noise wears on people.

LD December 27, 2016 at 10:58 pm

My downstairs neighbor constantly slams the door on a regular basis, which is beyond annoying. Despite addressing the issue with management, having this crazy woman evicted is a process.

The constant door slam was ongoing for two hours!! I contacted law enforcement to report a noise complaint. All they did was tell her to stop slamming the door. Her actions have been documented by security, so it should be more than enough for eviction.

I have less than five months left on my current lease, and I’m looking forward to moving out.

Ayan December 29, 2016 at 6:09 pm

Hello,
Good day

Please help me out I am new in calgary, I live in downtown, and the building I live in, It’s been a construction going on in the same building since two month, I have made complaints to the management about noise every day, they said
i have to be patience and this will continue until few more month, today I went there that I want to immediate leave the building because of wired noise every day, they said I have to pay penalty and I had a big argue with them, I showed them noise video too, and I have a baby she is 2 1/2 and she is disturb too because of noise.. Please advise me is there any legal help or there is any other alternative? All my building management told me it’s in by law we can’t do anything about noise. but how about tenant safety. It’s so annoying.
Thank you

Liz Simms January 12, 2017 at 7:48 am

In complete agreement with Suffering. My next door neighbours have a child on the Autism spectrum and therefore, my superintendent (and presumably the landlord above him) feel that this releases them from having to recognize my noise complaints (screeching, screaming, crying, yelling, stomping, slamming, etc). Even my neighbour across the hall has noticed the problem but I don’t think he has made a formal complaint, whereas I have several times, in writing. I am beyond frustrated and while I sympathize with the parents for having a difficult child (my own son is autistic), that should NOT exempt them from having to follow rules the same as others. I work shift work and I cannot seem to find peace in my own unit. I am now being asked to move to another building because of my incessant noise complaints, but I shouldn’t be forced to move when I pay good money for the unit I am in and have not caused a bit of trouble to anyone in the building.

Mr.E February 17, 2017 at 2:16 am

I have a tenant that lives below me and is not caring to anyone’s quiet levels of peace around them just got out of jail not long ago was on parole for assault charges and he is 29 First Nations guy has no respect for others and a bad attitude and like to hit first and not bother to think of conclusions after.

Likes to threaten what physical battery he wants to do you most days. He plays the radio when as soon as I get back home full volume my floors rumble and my plates and tv shakes. I play some music when I’m cooking but not as loud as him plus there are others on the their days off that just want sleep and he plays it everyday his radio over and over til like 1am starting from 5pm.

Testbook April 18, 2017 at 8:37 am

Grateful for the good advice and discussion. Different Noise Bylaws exist depending on one’s jurisdiction. Noise laws are 24/7 in most places. Things like lawn-mowing are usually set at no sooner than 9AM. Look up your Bylaw and you will see silence is not the goal. Conversations, TV watching, vacuuming, a dog barking now and then, doors and cupboards closing, footsteps on stairs, people getting together and having fun, all are regular ‘normal’ living noises and not subject to legit excessive noise rules and not part of the category of unreasonable noise. To the one complaining about a noisy child, that is off limits, children will make noise. If the child makes more noise than someone can handle, the complaining neighbour is free to move. The landlord did resolve it correctly by offering an alternate unit considering one was available. Noise is a normal part of life. People do need to try to get along. However, if the complaining tenant is unhappy with normal noise they may need to move to an isolated area.

Sleep Deprived May 4, 2017 at 5:34 am

We have been suffering from 2 neighbors who make noise at opposite ends of the sleeping period. The neighbors upstairs come home from work at 9pm and treat the next 5 hours as if it is early evening. They have 2 small children and believe that running and playing ball in the apartment at all times of the day and night is “their right”. The running and game playing is usually between 9pm and 2am, which is accompanied by music which is over 70 decibels. The neighbor next to use has multiple dogs – as soon as he leaves for work at 5am, the dogs begin barking for hours. This gives us about a 3 hours window to sleep at night. The tenant has ordered the one neighbor to remove the dogs, but there is nothing they can do about the neighbors upstairs. According to the landlord, the court system does not evict over noise complaints.

What to do? May 15, 2017 at 5:45 am

Just a question. We have moved into a cottage on a property where 2 other tenants reside. Since moving in 6 months ago we have only had 3 Braai’s. music only played from a phone inside the cottage. My boyfriend, myself and +-6 other guests would be on patio in order not to be rained on in horrible weather conditions. I gave my number to the neighbour as we moved in to open a line of communication, unbeknown to me that she would message and once had her husband call me around 21h every time we had people over. We are literally just talking and laughing and it has not happened more than once every 2 months because I know she has kids. I have now received a call from the landlord. I also found out that the single time my other neighbour had friends over that left around 21h30 (I know because we were in bed watching a movie, and he lives in between myself and the complaining neighbour) They really weren’t that noisy, also no music (He was told if it happened again his contract would be terminated). Is my other neighbour being over sensitive and vindictive. Is my landlords approach legal? Are they allowed to just terminate your lease because of a single neighbour complaint without proof of the noise level? What foot do we have to stand on at all?? Our lease does not state anything about keeping quiet after certain hours, but have now come to agreement that shut off time is 22h so asked my neighbour to refrain from messaging me before 22h, but even this is an issue for them. What can we do??

Perils in Pearland June 2, 2017 at 4:15 am

May I please get guidance on a situation that recently occurred with me and my above neighbors?

Patti June 5, 2017 at 12:19 pm

What do you do when a child is continually running and jumping at all hours of the day and night. I have sent 2 written complaints and the landlord has responded immediately and sent them 2 letters. They seem to want to totally ignore the letters and the kid is still running laps and jumping. I would appreciate some advice.

Thank you,

Mrs Kruger June 11, 2017 at 3:13 am

Dear friend, what can I do, I’m a well paying tenant and my land lords are playing there music so loud that even I close my doors and windows it hurts my ears and also the screaming and shouting is so loud my ears cant take it, we’ve signed a 6months contract and still have 4 months left. I cant take it anymore. They are staying right above me. What is my right as a tenant?

A different slant June 11, 2017 at 7:53 am

I have a slightly different slant. My downstairs neighbor complains that I make loud thumping and banging noises all day. My landlord came to see me and realizing I am a 66 year old woman, no children or husband, watched me walk around the apartment, close and open doors, etc…seemed not to believe the woman downstairs. However, she has continued to complain that I make loud thumping noises. I have documented all the actions taken. And am now “tip toeing” around my OWN apartment. I have never thumped or banged. I am afraid to hand my pictures as this may upset the woman downstairs. What can I do?? Must I be inordinately quiet for her sake??

josan July 18, 2017 at 8:12 pm

i moved in my apartment dec. of 2016 none of the repairs have done in a t imely manner or at all. all we get is alibis and excuses , my husband is a disable vet has cancer high blood pressure sleep apnea heart problem and bad legs ,all this is in the office record on july 15 2017 the fire detector went off and continue for hours, i called the handman on duty to come and repair it , he new my husband was ill , so he called manager to clear the repairs she told him it would have to wait until the 17th of july it was not enough to repair i told him to have her call me i explain to her my husbands illness plus he was in bad shape he had just found out his sister cancer had gotten worst and could not understand why the owners did not care about their tenants her answer to me was i have not been her long enough to care and rules were the fire detector over his bed room was not important enough to fix, my husbands sleep apnea machine might go off it is computer rise i asked what if he stop breathing , she looked at me and said nothing , than came back with rules are rules he had to wait she told me i could not get security ‘s help as well , but as a concerned wife i told it would be fixed i did go get security they came fixed it and offered to come back on monday i met with her to no avail nothing mattered my husband being a disable vet or his illness she stated i took her statement out of context when you state i have not been here long enough to care. and state vets and illness is important enough to come and fix something , i have a problem it is like she did not care if he lived or died.

Deborah Maxine Wilson September 3, 2017 at 9:21 pm

I live on the first floor of a small apartment complex. My upstairs neighbor is quiet all week long, but on the weekend her daughter visits with her four young children, ranging in ages from thirteen to two years old. On Friday evening when they arrive the noise starts and does not stop until they leave on Sunday night. The excessive noise includes running back and forth, stomping, jumping, dancing, and whatever else children do when they are roughhousing. These children have no structure. They are basically left to themselves most of the weekend while the mother and grandmother do whatever they are doing in another room. What course of action should I take? Thanks

Hatti November 27, 2017 at 6:46 pm

I been living in this apartment complex for 7 months. Everything we’re good until my neighbor moved her daughter and granddaughter into her apartment.for about 4 months there have been running, stomping,falling chairs,door slamming etc.and I have lost plenty sleep behind all of this noise it starts from 8am until. I had never experienced anything like this a day in my life out of my 48 years living. I went to the landlord office and told him what was going on and he said he was going to talk to them about the noise.he say if the noise keep happening to let him know.so far it’s still happening already from 6pm until about 9maybe longer but I leave for work at 10pm .but soon as I return from work about 8am the child and her mom stomp,bump,slam doors etc.can u please help and tell me what else can I do about this loud noise.it even worst on the weekend when the rental office closed they really keep up loud noise.any body who visit me ask me how do I sleep with all that noise upstairs, I said I don’t I’m tied now that I can’t get no sleep this noise is driving me crazy I can’t hardly do my work at my job
Please help thanks… I am disabled due to health issues.please tell me what can I do

Shane December 11, 2017 at 12:59 pm

I am 2 months into 12 months lease. The first month was relatively quiet. Then suddenly within the last week I have heard music playing next door almost every morning when I wake up for work, and at 3:30am on Friday morning! I’ve complained to the landlord about this, as well as my having to call animal control last week because their dog was out for about 5 hours in sub 30 degree weather. The music is loud enough that I can make out the words in certain parts of the home, and I don;t think it’s acceptable to be hearing bass pumping in my shower as I get ready for work. It is effecting my sleep, and enjoyment of the unit. I want to get out of the lease at this point but am afraid to pay the penalty. I am going to request a release hope that the landlord sees this as the easiest and least expensive road forward.

Elaine January 11, 2018 at 11:48 am

I have a upstairs neighbor who started out playing his television and gaming playing very loud during the hours of 12 midnight – 4 am. I have not spoken with the neighbor because he seems to be a hot head and being a woman would not wish to confront him, therefore I went to those in the office twice (one being the manager) and it just made matters worse because the hot head got angrier and decrease the playing of the loud television/game playing and now has gone to stomping and dropping heavy object on the floor that time of the night and I have observed very carefully it is being done intentionally, there seems to be someone there 24.7 male/female and just recently another male moved in who walks like he a size of an elephant and added to their ritual of noise making in the early am and also started with scratching against the wall also.. I would say they are the devil’s spun because this noise is now being carried over into the daytime, if it is quiet in our apartment they start up the noises but no sooner I guess they hear a television or radio they stop and I can swear they are viewing us because when I am praying or meditating they come into that area and drop the heavy object which also make ceiling fan vibrates. I have called the police 3 times and the courtesy officer twice and even written the management company twice with no relief in site -on 22 December 2017 my blood pressure shot up to dangerous level , along with chest pain -last year I had heart attack and high blood pressure reaching 206/109. I’m trying to stay calm and decided to move out in April but I do not know if I would make it until then , to them I’m just a crazy old woman who no one will believe because they have been caught only once by police who also stated they could not do anything unless they can catch them in the act and it seems the manager is afraid of them, because this has been going on since August.

Suffering_1 January 16, 2018 at 9:07 pm

Well, after an earlier post, I have a new neighbor who I soon thought “Uh-oh” about. I thought if I might have the opportunity to speak to him early on, if seeing him outside, to introduce myself, but before I could (and not climbing stairs with a bad knee), have become aware of his habits. He works an odd schedule and when arriving home late each evening plays music, hearing the Bass noise down here, until 2:30-3:30 am. Then I discovered that he likes to yell and applaud while watching loud TV sports. Ridiculous. He also walks hard (on his heels, apparently) with reckless abandon.. pounding around and around and there is a “snapping” noise with each step. When he gets up from sitting, it sounds like my ceiling is giving way and my couch vibrates.

I had already mentioned the nightly loud Bass to the manager and she acts as if this is “so difficult” (likely doesn’t want to deal with it) and apparently wants me to tolerate it. Should I call and wake her late at night to hear it? I left a message for her regarding the yelling when she was out the other day, not knowing if she got it, cared, or addressed it. She has begun acting as if I am “just oversensitive” in recent years due to previous complaints of others’ inconsideration. (Of course, they can get more $$ for my place if I leave). I cannot do so until locating something appropriate, being an older person needing a low-income situation. It has affected my sleep and nerves.

This is so crazy. Why should some be allowed to disrupt others? Why aren’t quiet, considerate tenants treated more valuably? Why aren’t there better standards set for a tenant going in? I see a lot of others annoyed by this, yet I see no resolution or responses by those who have the power to do so. A lot needs to change.

trpsi January 25, 2018 at 12:13 pm

I agree with suffering that something must be done to solve this noise problem because many people work night time too and they don’t get a good sleep they suppose to get. People living in the appartment building should respect all the people living there. inside the house kids not suppose to run and jump because it’s not a playground. My husband works at night and we are facing the same noise problem. By the way I am the landlord and I don’t know if I could take any action with my tenant.They are new to this country Whole day they scream and talk I could hear each and every word clearly.many times I hear the doors bang. Night time too they eat after 12 till then I hear them talk and the noises of their pots and pans until they sleep.I Before I never had any problems with any of my tenants they were all quite and very respectful.I have 2 more tenants who are very good. My building used to be very quiet but since they came the peace is gone. I told them many times but of no use. I mentioned in the lease too about no noises. Now I want to know if I could tell them to move.

divgrv February 20, 2018 at 9:54 am

Our apartment is right above the electrical room of our apartment building. 15 days after we signed our lease, we emailed the property manager about a strange noise we were hearing. It was disturbing to concentrating on work and would often wake me in the middle of the night. Emailing went on and on and the property manager and maintenance acted like they had never heard the noise before we brought it to their attention. We later found out that our neighbors, who lived there longer than us had brought the noise to their attention several months before we signed the lease. Eventually our inquires as to when it would be looked into further/fixed started getting ignored. Finally, we got to meet the property manager in person and she did not like that maintenance was ignoring us she said, so that lit a fire under their @$$ and they figured out that the one elevator in our building causes the sound when it is called or goes up. This only took 6 months of our lease for them to figure out. When they first attempted to fix the issue, it actually made it worse. But finally it was “fixed”. I use that term lightly because I still heard the sound uncountable times daily, and it would break my concentration but at least it was no longer waking me up from sleep. In the past few weeks we have noticed he noise is louder again. When we emailed maintenance about this, they didn’t respond. I followed up two times and asked them to just tell me if they aren’t going to look into it or fix it so at least I’ll know. Maintenance responded, ” they check Friday and they are there today and they are telling me that the elevator noise is not any louder since electricains have been there to fix it” Needless to say, that really pissed me off. I was up at 2AM from that noise and I know it’s louder. We love our apartment, and the building otherwise! But we’re paying for a “luxury apartment” that doesn’t feel like much of a luxury. What are our rights/options?

Nancy Taylor March 12, 2018 at 7:32 pm

I am sitting here reading this with multiple noises coming down to me from the neighbors above. I have lived here for almost 3 years and it wasn’t until they upgraded the apartment above me with HARDWOOD FLOORS that I began to have terrible trouble. The landlord does not believe that the flooring makes a difference. What idiots! I can’t blame the neighbors — they are just living their lives, but OMG. I can hear every step they take and when they pull their chairs out across the floor it sounds like an elephant trumpeting in my apartment. I don’t think I am overly sensitive — I have lived for over 25 years with people above me in various places and I have never felt the need to complain. This is RIDICULOUS. I just don’t know who I can complain to — the regulations in some states require neighbors to cover 80% of their hardwood floors with area rugs. Not in Colorado so I am STUCK. It is truly awful and I have four more months on my lease. (By the way, the month-to-month rent in this apartment building is $3885 per month. Talk about coercive. For a one-bedroom dump!) I feel for all of you who are having trouble with this. It really does stress a person out. Mainly because there isn’t anything you can do and no one believes you when you tell them how bad it is. : (

Veronica March 28, 2018 at 7:25 am

What can I do my upstairs neighbor has resorted to a constant horn sound that starts from the bathroom every 2-5mins, even my friend could not make out the sound I been here for 7 yrs and nothing like this has ever made that sound. it is very annoying not to mention she lets her son run through the house constantly for hours every day and night while she slams walks hard and deliberately places trash in front of my door. I tried talking to her but she is very combative and asks me how come I do not have a house. she had previous people who she was in a relationship with and they argue early in the morning and fought till the police were called in every instance she is very evil. She is trying to make me move I am in no position to go anywhere and should not have to deal with her constant behavior.

Leo April 11, 2018 at 4:03 pm

what can I do about my next door neighbor?
The Landlord and the neighbor are aware I work the midnight shift, and I need to sleep during the day and when ever I have a rest day to compensate for the stress and lack of sleep.
I have complained to the landlord multiple times via text messages about the noise but nothing has been done.
the neighbor has even started turning the stereo volume very high with the purpose of waking me up. I even have heard him bragging about it. I think they ant me to force me to move…
the landlord is aware of it.
this is affecting my work
hat is the best way to deal with this problem? thank you

sebrina robertson April 21, 2018 at 8:22 pm

I live underneath the electrical room in a 170 unit high-rise apt. bldg. There are four huge electrical transformers that sits directly above the dining room area and kitchen. This very loud humming noise is nonstop and can be heard throughout the apt, including bedroom.The noise is so loud you can hear it outside the door in the hallway. The landlord suggested that a white noise machine would mask the noise. I don’t think that one machine will solve the problem. Please give me some advice. Thank you

Andra May 2, 2018 at 2:32 pm

I live about 500 feet from my antagonists and in public housing where the tenants think that everyday is suppose to be a party. The noise ordinance here is 25 feet of ear shot. My neighbor’s home face the side of my home so, I can hear every time they turn inside the home their “car stereo quality” beats on. I try to describe the noise to my rental manager and have asked for a mediation with the tenants, police and management to at least put a face to this. This has been going on for four years and management will absolutely not do anything but fire off threatening letters to them or request that I move which is bad for me because I do not have the funds to be bouncing around. the police can not do anything unless they hear the music and their is no equipment that can record the music for evidence. I told them that all they have to do is come by in an unmarked vehicle and sit for a while and they will catch them in the act. My neighbors watch my company and know how every care that comes down my street look and who they belong to. they turn the music down when company vehicles approach or strange vehicles come through. The workings of criminals casing a street right! Trying to find out how to sue them for the aggravation. Working on my exit plan, that is if the noise don’t cause an Infarction first. Already got my ASD. and is working on the Bachelor’s. If the economy holds together and I can find some GOD fearing people to hire me I’ll be out of here and will maybe replace the manager.

mike May 19, 2018 at 6:01 am

we moved in 2 months ago. the tenants beside us play their music day and night with their subs to the nines serious heavy metal to which our pictures and furniture are shaking. slamming of the doors we tolerate. we often have to resort to watching tv in the bedroom. these people go to bed very late at night and sleep until atleast 1100. then it starts all over again…..aaaahh. have informed building management, they informed us to keep track and they will try to take care of it. we will keep our fingers crossed. good luck to all.

P L May 24, 2018 at 2:44 pm

Nice to know that there are Landlords who wants to enforce their rules on a rule- breakers. Here I to have to deal with PM who is the third one since I moved in for I wasnt told about the multi-complex being sold. I came here from a town to a city, however its the same there with managements. I had thought this would be different until we got the new owner and new management and alot of construction going on inside and out. I have been here since April 2016 and it wasnt too bad with the tenants behind me who lives in townhouses and Im in a single floor unit which our fence connects us. The two managements at least dealt with the bad tenants quick and didnt care about your status only that your were a paying tenant too. However this last one is rude and dont like for you to make suggestion etc. or complain about anyone especially the full paying tenants like the one who moved behind me. As soon as they moved in they took over our backyards by intimidation control and domination using their dogs kids etc. to get into your face every time you go out. I hardly went out because of this before but this is worse because the PM is allowing them to do it. Since their dog had become aggressive because they would leave it outside by itself for hours it started barking alot than aggressive barking then attack mode. I had an email from a Vet stating its called Territorial Aggression because they had the yard as the dog sitter and it became bored and the longer they left him out the worse he got. So I sent that information to PM so she cant say that I was lying which she did anyway saying I had no proof and she has two witnessess. Even though when she was doing inspections she heard the dog herself and I timed it before it was taken in, over 10 minutes. Before that she told me to call animal control which I did for noise and they sent the form. The second time I called was about the aggression I was told PM is responsible for it since its in a closed in yard and sent her an email telling her that. I dont know if PM told them but it stopped however now they are using the laundry machine all day and I doubt that theres clothes every time its being used to harass me (white noise). My bedroom is across from theirs and the machines are outside not inside like most apartments are. So the sound echos and at night its worse. Community Policy states absolutely no noise from 10pm to 10 am yet they do it anyways. I emailed office so many times as documents giving times and dates etc. Im told its a wash machine and in the day cant do anything about it. With Security even if they did get caught cant make them stop. So its a Get out of Jail for free card for them. This past weekend they went from Thursday to Monday morning with machine but didnt get evicted and started on Tuesday until Wednesday morning again. Because Security cant do anything since they dont answer the door pretending not to be home it continues until I call again. This is done in front of their kids showing how to break rules and harass people. These people are abusive to their kids and dog so nothing new with them harassing me. The PM gets mad when people harasses her and dont like excessive noise either but I have to deal with it. Tells me that Im harassing her with the email per lawyer. Someone in the office told these people so now since Tuesday they been doing it more knowing they wont get evicted from here. As one said its to get me to move out of here too for I dont have family and stay to myself because of people like these. My daughter lives with me and we both have Fibromyalgia and PTSD etc. We had been in a shelter for 8 months dealing with people like them getting away with things there too. As I told PM even if I did move it wouldnt matter to me and you all might have thought you won but thats when its get worse for them and more so for her allowing it. For what goes around comes around 10x worse and it does for I had seen it many times with my own eyes. You see when people thought they had you and won they let down their guard down and thats when all hell breaks loose for them. Its the calm before the storm. As long as your heart doesnt commit evil all will be dealt with in time. If you have the resource unlike me to move or feel its time dont look back for these people are not worth wasting your time and energy on with hatred in your heart. I dealt with this for over 8 years before coming here and everyone who harassed me where gone before I left there and PM was getting theirs too. What needs to be done is a hotline with lawyers to help tenants like us to get rid of tenants like them and the landlords for thats mental, emotional and physical abuse/harassment/bullying. With mine psychological abuse through white noise (laundry machines). Each city should have one to deal with the Landlords/PM/tenants for and they should be find for it. Especially when landlords and PM dont enforce their own rule except when they want to. Here I heard there are tenants coming together against the PM but I dont know why or who they are so it doesnt help me. As they say if its only one complaining its ignored . Its worse when other tenants know that someone is being harassed and dont do anything or wont complain to the PM even though I know its affecting them too. Its just like the kids in school no one cares to defend them or report it and look whats happening in our school because of it and were are adults being harassed too

Aja Witt June 28, 2018 at 8:07 am

I recently moved into a place so my lease isn’t up for another year. Initially there was no one living above me but now some noisy tenants with children have moved in. There is constant running and banging upstairs now that wakes me up out of my sleep as late as 2AM! I’m not even sure why children would be up running and jumping at that hour but these parents clearly don’t care about anyone around them. I’ve contacted my landlord several times and was told to wait a couple of days while they move in… these aren’t moving sounds! They’re jumping and running sounds. It oftentimes sounds like a child throwing themselves at the floor. TAKE YOUR KIDS OUTSIDE AND STOP BEING INCONSIDERATE A$$*#%&@!

Catherine l Smith July 4, 2018 at 9:21 am

I’m having the same problem. A tenant and her son moved in two years ago and the first night it was a fight upstairs. My husband informed the Super of the building and he reported it to management. My husband and I spoken to her on different occasions, I called 311 several times and emailed management several times. He spoken to her, but it continued day and night, the running back and forth, stomping, jumping, slamming things, dropping heavy objects and loud cursing and laughting for the whole block to here her. The woman and her son has not respect for anyone, I could tell she came from a negative environment and being somewhere decent was like living in Paradise for them. Then the next year-2017-2018 was the same thing on and off throughout the day until a week ago I had the pleasure to speak w/management to solve this issues and he had already informed her about the noise and complaints on her, so I was informed to write another letter indication the situations in a email and sent it to his office for document proof. Always keep a log of dates, the tenants behaviors and the hours these things are happening and request a super, policeman or someone from the Landlord office or even your Management Dept. to come out and witness what’s happening and present it to a lawyer if nothing is done. Most of us are trying to be respected, understanding, live correctly and be a good outstanding citizen, but you have others that don’t want anything out of life, but want to be in a good area, around decent people and bring their negative vibes and it should not be tolerated just for a couple of dollars. Put these like-minded people in the same environment and see what happens, they won’t last long around each other, but they want to disturb others peace of mind and that’s not right. The politicians & Landlords needs to stop looking at these issues as small ones because in the years years to come most the decent tenants will start moving to quieter areas and they wish that they can continue to keep them, by listening to the small complaints before they become bigger ones. All we can do is continue to pray that “GOD” put us in a blessed situation and move or removed the bad seeds if they don’t continues headaches because tenants like this don’t stop, this is a life-style behavior for them. And its mental and how they were raised, but you can’t change people that don’t want to change only pray that they stay out of your space. God Bless!

Kris Thompson July 11, 2018 at 10:37 am

My husband and I been in our apartment for 2 and a half years now, and the landlord is kicking the older tenants out and moving younger people in which is so wrong! The younger people are inconsiderate and loud….recently a lady and I guess her boyfriend/husband moved in up under us. Their TV be so loud that the floor vibrates under our feet! Without the A/C and Fan being on this Summer we probably could hear it louder, but it’s loud enough with just these two things on in our apartment. I texted the landlord and asked him were these people hard of hearing or something because their TV is way too loud…..he ignored my text…didn’t even respond to say he would talk to them! This is my third time living in this apartment building and my husband’s second…the landlord before this one wouldn’t have stand for this kind of mess! This landlord don’t care and when you do complain to him about the noise from other tenants he says “Nothing I can do!” and “If you call the police, they won’t do anything either!” What a A-hole, hopefully we will be moving in October into a house.

JadeLu August 22, 2018 at 5:23 pm

I have lived in my current apartment going on 4 years. A woman moved in with her twin kinds and my life turned to hell. Everyday they are kicking my wall doing backflips and my floor is shaking. I live in a modern style building but this woman is on subsidized rental voucher. I pay full rent and work full time. There is so much my landlord isn’t doing right.

1. Error on my rental account
2. They lost one of my rent money orders and a year later expect me to hunt it down.
3. Not resolving my complaints
3. After 3 years they are showing up in my apartment doing inspections often. So I installed cameras. Yest when I was home they showed for only One inspection out of twenty scheduled inspections.
4. I was seriously ill for a long time and with all of the chaos in the building I became sicker.
5. There is safety issues with tenants being attack when strangers want to enter the building.
6. Meetings seems to go no where all we get is promises and false hope. Some tenants target others and that becomes another issue.

What should I do???

Holly October 18, 2018 at 10:56 am

I rent a 2nd floor and the tenants below blast their music so loud that my floor vibrates and I can’t even have a conversation in my own apartment. I have complained to the landlord and they stop it on a case by case basis, but it always happens again. After the landlord talks to them they stop the music but start stomping and slamming things. I swear the one kid does cartwheels down the hallway back and forth just to be annoying. They both work full time but are rent subsidized anyway – so while I pay an arm and a leg, they live for free. Plus they are filthy and have 2 dogs that bark CONSTANTLY! So frustrated and looking to move, I feel bad for the next people who move in.

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: